Isn’t it funny….

Eid Mubarak everyone! I can happily report that I completed all 29 days of fasting, read the Qur’an twice through and also learnt 11 chapters of it to add into my daily prayer routine. I had a great Eid, visiting the homes of 2 colleagues and also my best, umm, whatever he is, Kakon. By 12 p.m. we were stuffed silly with delicious foods and we basically stayed that way until 11 p.m. Isn’t it funny that, no matter the religion, the main celebrations revolve around eating disgusting amounts of delicious food until you are uncomfortably full?

The political situation in Bangladesh seems to be teetering on the brink. A few weeks ago one of the large (and troublesome) parties was actually banned from partaking in the election,as it is an Islamic party and Bangladesh’s constitution declares it as a secular country, so a religious party could not run it. Strike action is to follow, handily extending many people’s Eid vacation by 2 days. The two main parties, AL and BNP are to-ing and fro-ing about whether there will be a caretaker government to run the elections early next year, with the opposition saying the current government will not conduct fair elections by itself and the current ruling party claiming the opposition are just being childish and of course democracy will be served. Isn’t it also funny how, no matter the country, the political arena is riddled with the same bs?

Two of the interns have already left, and the other two are nearing the end of their stay. It has been fun having them around – playing cards and talking to someone instead of talking to myself and trying to pretend I was actually talking to the cats (because that is so much better, obviously). Although parts of me will enjoy having the place to myself again, for a while at least. Isn’t it funny that when we are alone, we crave company and yet, when we have company, we just want peace?

Probably the most exciting news is that cheese has arrived in Jessore. Now, it’s only plastic cheese slices or Laughing Cow triangles, but it is a giant leap for mankind, resulting in me dancing a little jig in the aisle of the market. I now have the number of the guy who owns the shop and I’ve told him that, whatever cheese he can bring, I will buy it. Isn’t it funny how excited you can get about something you haven’t had access to for a while?

 

Leave a comment